Going Missional ~ 1a

My son, Harrison, had his second baseball practice tonight. I took him early because he needs a lot of extra practice on timing the ball so that he hits it. Right now he is just a little behind on it and so he swings just a bit late and misses the ball. We played pepper on an empty field to let him get more of the feel on swinging on time with the ball. It was a lot of fun to hang out with him and coach him. My dad played baseball and he is named after him. (Harrison’s first name is John) (This won’t make a lot of sense unless you know my story of faith, especially how I have never known my father because he died before I was born of leukemia) Anyway, I had a great time with my son.

When the other players got there I spent time talking to the other coaches and getting to know them a little bit. I just had fun and tried to be myself. I also had to help coach the other kids, which is not my strong suit. I talked a lot with the head coach, a guy named Lee, and got to know him a little. My intention was to just engage him in conversation and as we get to know each other try to find a way to invest spiritually in his life. It could be prayer, or it could be a deep conversation ending in faith. What I know is that if I don’t do it, if I don’t try to allow God to plant or even water the seeds of faith in this man and the others on the team, then there might not be someone else. My life must, should, and ought to be an incarnation of the Living Christ to the world I come in contact with everyday.

I ask that if you get a moment, offer a short prayer that God would use me in a mighty way through these natural relationships to share the love of Christ.

~ by bchatcher on September 8, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
