Wisdom from Walden

I decided a while back that in my reading I would read a lot of classics and such in order to make myself think and learn. I also figured it would be a good idea to go back and read some of those books I was supposed to have read in high school and college. 😉

So anyway, I started reading Walden by Henry David Thoreau a little bit ago. I came across some good nuggets of wisdom in it and I am sure there are plenty more to come.

Here you go:

We now no longer camp as for a night, but have settled down on earth and forgotten heaven. We have adopted Christianity merely as an improved method of agriculture. We have built for this world a family mansion, and for the next a family tomb.

The cart before the horse is neither beautiful nor useful.

~ by bchatcher on March 6, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
