Blog Through the Bible

A standard goal for me personally has been to read through the Bible every year. I use a bible reading calendar from Jerry Fine at www.oneononewithgod.org it is well worth it. I now try to make sure I use a different translation each time in order to see some of the subtle differences in how we have understood the original texts. So, since I want to blog more this year, mainly because I hope it will help me unload a few things sometimes, I thought it would be fun to post about insights I receive as I read through the text. Hence, the title: Blog through the Bible. Obviously, it’s mid-January. I have already read several days but oh well. I will start here. I was reading in Genesis 17 actually a day behind so I had to catch up. Here is the passage:

Genesis 17:18

And Abraham said to God, “Oh that Ishmael might live before you!”
ESV

Abraham is seeking for God to fulfill His covenant promise by blessing Ishmael instead of some future promised offspring. Remember, Sarai has convinced Abram that they need to conceive a child with her servant Hagar instead of waiting on God. Abram now seeks to have God, who is reconfirming His covenant promise with him, fulfill this covenant based on his own terms instead of what God has promised. He asks God to fulfill the covenant promise through Ishmael instead of the promised son by Sarai. How often do we attempt to make God fulfill His plan and purpose through us based on our own terms and definitions. We can’t make God cut corners or take shortcuts to fulfill His plan. We are called to trust it, and that is the heart of faith. Our faith is not a complete blindness in the absence of things but a total trust that God will fulfill His promise in spite of things not appearing like it. Remember, “faith is the… conviction of things not seen” (Hebrews 11:1). Abram struggled to see God’s ability to fulfill this covenant over his age, Sarai’s age and so on. So, he tried to convince God to circumvent His plan and use his own methods. May all of us seek to fulfill God’s plan for us according to faith in Him and not our own abilities.

~ by bchatcher on January 13, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
